Mackinac Island – A Primer

What is it about Mackinac Island that is so appealing? I know I’m not the only one who fell in love with the island on my first visit. I find it very hard to quantify. But I like trying!

First, I need to pay homage to what I feel is the epitome of Mackinac Island living: Bree’s Mackinac Island Blog. After our first visit to the island we found this blog, written by summer island resident Brenda Horton, and we’ve been following it ever since. Not only does she know nearly everything there is to know about Mackinac Island, she also shares her life with her readers in the most entertaining of ways. She’s a wonderful writer and photographer, and if my little blog here can ever be a tenth as good as hers I will feel it’s a success.

In case you don’t know anything about Mackinac Island, I will introduce it to you with some basics. It lies between the lower and upper peninsulas of the state of Michigan, surrounded by Lake Huron. It is only accessible by boat or plane, and the island doesn’t allow cars. So, the usual means of transportation TO the island is a ferry boat, and the usual means of transportation ON the island include bicycles, horses, or your own God-given feet! That’s it! I think this is a big part of its appeal.

“Mackinac,” even though it looks like it should be pronounced Mack-in-ack (rhyming with sack) is really pronounced Mack-in-awww (rhyming with saw). The origins are French.

On the mainland, there are two cities offering ferry service to the island. In the lower peninsula, Mackinaw City (this is also pronounced Mack-in-aw rhyming with saw) is the port we typically use since we are coming from the south. Those coming from the north would catch their ferry in St. Ignace (pronounced IG-nis sort of rhyming with bigness (is that even a word?))

That’s about all I knew about the island, if that, the first time we visited (July, 2011). Since then I’ve learned much about its wonderful history as well as plenty of current information which I hope to share with you over the coming months. Thanks for following along!


Unless otherwise indicated, all photos are courtesy of my amazing husband, the late Jackson Pearson (1961-2019) May he rest in eternal peace ❤  


This entry was posted in Mackinac'ing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to us!