Recipe: Whiskey BBQ Sliders

I can’t take credit for this recipe, it’s another Pioneer Woman delight. I have yet to make anything of hers I don’t like. She is my idol! Here is a link to her version of this recipe, which I highly recommend for the humor alone! You’ll notice hers is called “Spicy” Whiskey BBQ Sliders, but I skipped the jalapenos. I also skipped some of the extra butter. Read on for my own version!

Whiskey BBQ Sliders

Ingredients

1-1/2 lbs. ground sirloin
salt and pepper
2-4 tablespoons butter
1 large onion
1/2 cup whiskey
1 cup barbecue sauce, any variety you like
1/4 cup jalapeno slices (more or less to taste, I skipped entirely)
12 dinner rolls, split

Directions

Form the meat into 12 miniature patties (see notes). Salt and pepper both sides.

Melt the butter over medium-high heat and cook the patties until they are just about done in the middle, approximately 3-4 minutes per side.

While the patties are cooking, dice the onion.

Remove the patties from the skillet and set aside. Drain off all but about a tablespoon of the grease and return the skillet to the stove. Add the onions and cook for 3-5 minutes. Important: Turn off the flame. Add the whiskey and stir. Turn the heat back on again (medium-high) and allow the whiskey to reduce by about half, maybe 2 or 3 minutes. Add the barbecue sauce and jalapenos (if using).

Reduce heat to low and return the patties to the barbecue sauce mixture. Simmer the patties in the sauce, turning once or twice, until hot and bubbly. Serve on dinner rolls.

Notes

  • I actually used one pound of ground meat and made eight patties. The Pioneer Woman used two pounds of meat and made 12, but that ratio would be a little too thick for my liking.
  • You can use any type of dinner rolls. But if you can find King’s Hawaiian Rolls at your grocery store I highly recommend them. They sealed the deal for me on this recipe. There’s something about the sweetness of the bread combined with the tang of the bbq sauce that took it over the top.
  • The Pioneer Woman buttered and grilled her buns. While I’m sure it was mouth-watering, I tried to lighten it up a bit by skipping that part. I also prefer that my buns not be hot. (No easy way to say that!)
  • A printer-friendly version of this recipe can be found here.

Many thanks to my photographer!
Connect with White Pine Photo: Website | Photo Blog | Facebook | Twitter


This entry was posted in All Recipes, Beef, Cooking, Main Dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to us!

