Recipe: Baked Chicken Croquettes

Chicken Croquettes were very popular when I was growing up. It seemed every mom-and-pop type restaurant offered them, and you could even find them in the grocery store, sometimes at the deli counter and always in the frozen foods. I can’t find them anywhere anymore (although the mom-and-pop restaurants near my own Mom and Pop still serve them sometimes!) so I decided I’d learn to make my own.

I tried using ground chicken, and I ended up with chicken-hamburgers. So I tried again (and again and again) until I got the consistency of the chicken correct. And now they’re perfect. Of course they’d be a bit more “perfect” if they were fried, but I don’t do fried any longer. So this is a baked recipe. Enjoy!

Baked Chicken Croquettes

Ingredients

5 Tablespoons butter or margarine, divided
3 Tablespoons flour
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup chicken broth
2 cups finely chopped cooked chicken
1-1/4 cups bread crumbs
3 Tablespoons fresh parsley (finely chopped) or 1 Tablespoon dried parsley
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs

Directions

In a small saucepan, melt 3 Tablespoons butter over medium heat (do not brown.) Add flour and cook for 1 to 2 minutes, stirring the whole time. Combine milk and chicken broth, then gradually whisk into the flour mixture in the saucepan. Cook a few minutes, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens. Remove from heat and set aside to cool.

Meanwhile, process the chicken. I use a small food processor but you can also use a knife being sure to chop the meat very finely.

Finely Chopped Chicken for Baked Chicken Croquettes

Cooked chicken finely chopped with food processor

Finely Chopped Chicken for Baked Chicken Croquettes

Cooked chicken finely chopped with food processor

In a large bowl, combine the chicken, 1 cup of the breadcrumbs, parsley, salt, and lightly beaten eggs. Mix well. Add cooled sauce and mix again. Cover and chill in refrigerator at least 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place remaining 1/4 cup bread crumbs in a shallow dish. Shape croquettes into ovals or balls or whatever shape you prefer. I make between six and eight. Coat with bread crumbs and place into a greased baking dish. Melt remaining 2 Tablespoons butter and drizzle over croquettes. Bake 30-45 minutes until golden brown. I will warn you that they won’t get very brown. Turning them mid-cooking helps, but they will remain fairly pale since they weren’t fried ahead of time. But they’re still delicious!

Notes

  • I usually use a purchased rotisserie chicken for the cooked meat, but you can also poach your own.
  • I used skim milk and it thickened perfectly.
  • If my bread crumbs are unseasoned, I sometimes add some onion powder, poultry seasoning and pepper to the final 1/4 cup used to coat the croquettes.
  • If you prefer them to brown, fry before baking in a bit of butter and oil.
  • A printer-friendly version of this recipe can be found here.

Baked Chicken Croquettes


Many thanks to my photographer!
Connect with White Pine Photo: Website | Photo Blog | Facebook | Twitter


This entry was posted in All Recipes, Chicken, Cooking, Main Dish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to us!

