Pinterest is Going to Make Me Fat

Ok, not really. But oh. my. gosh.

I was very late to the Pinterest game. I heard about it for awhile, along with tales of potential addiction. So I stayed away. The last thing I needed was another time-waster since I’m already prone to it without anyone’s help.

But I began to feel like I was missing something, so I took a weekend morning to learn and begin to use it. Well, morning turned into afternoon, afternoon into nighttime, and I was still browsing and pinning and getting hungrier with every delicious recipe I saw! (Note: I do not need any help gaining weight. I’m very successful all on my own.) At one point the food looked so good I decided I will just accept I’m going to die fat but at least eat well while I enjoy whatever remaining time I have left! Then I calmed down and only pinned about eight of the 200 recipes I viewed.

Pinterest

What is pinning? It’s the whole concept of Pinterest. You “pin” images from websites you like, your friends see what you’ve pinned and if they’re interested it gives them a handy way to get directly to that website. If they really like it, they can “re-pin” it so their friends can also enjoy it. In the meantime you’re viewing the pins your friends have made, maybe re-pinning some, and it grows from there.

You’ll find pins about food, gardening, DIY, health and fitness (which you will need after you get through the food category,) technology, sports, kids, and travel, among others. The topics are endless!

(Fair warning – Pinterest is currently ripe with scammers, just like all other social media sites. With over 12 million unique users, it’s an attractive audience for those with less-than-honorable intentions. Be sure your virus protection is up to date and click carefully. You are perfectly safe clicking around Pinterest itself, but if you follow someone’s pin out to a website you may not end up where you expect. As usual if something sounds too good to be true, it is. Rich foreign princes offering a share of $20 million if you’d simply provide your SSN and mother’s maiden name aren’t any more trustworthy on Pinterest than they are if they email you directly.)

The mission of Pinterest is simple:

“to connect everyone in the world through the ‘things’ they find interesting.”

And, it works. At least for me! Give it a try, I think you’ll like it. Just do yourself a favor and eat a hearty meal before you start browsing around. 🙂


Would you like to follow me on Pinterest? Here’s an easy way:

 Follow Me on Pinterest

Would you like to Pin this article? Click on the Pinterest share button below.

Do you have any Pinterest tips or tricks? I suspect most of my readers know a lot more about it than I do!

This entry was posted in Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to us!

