Recipe: Garlic Parmesan Orzo

I’m a big fan of this recipe. It’s delicious. But, I didn’t follow it to the letter. I’ll refer you to the Notes section with an asterisk where I made changes.

Ingredients

2 cups uncooked orzo pasta (or any small pasta shape you like)
3 teaspoons minced garlic
1/2 cup butter*
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/4 cup milk
2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley (or, 2 tsp. dried parsley)
1 teaspoon salt*
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions

Cook orzo according to package directions; drain. In a large skillet, saute garlic in butter until tender. Add the orzo, Parmesan cheese, milk, parsley, salt and pepper. Cook, stirring, until heated through.

Notes

  • *Butter – 1/2 cup is a full stick of butter. Absolutely unnecessary, regardless of whether you are watching what you eat or not. I used less than half that. I buy Amish butter which doesn’t come in sticks but I probably used, oh, maybe 3 tablespoons tops and the finished dish didn’t suffer a bit.
  • *Salt – 1 teaspoon salt is way too much. And I’m a big fan of salt! But, there’s salt in the pasta water. There’s salt in the butter. There’s salt in the parmesan cheese. Start with none, or maybe 1/4 teaspoon and taste it to see if you want to add more.
  • A print-friendly recipe (with my changes in place) can be found here.

Many thanks to my photographer!
Connect with White Pine Photo: Website | Photo Blog | Facebook | Twitter


This entry was posted in All Recipes, Cooking, Side Dish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe: Garlic Parmesan Orzo

  1. Stephanie says:

    Looks so yummy! I make something similiar except I cook myorzo like rice and cook it in chicken stock. I don’t think you can go wrong with pasta, garlic and cheese!

Talk to us!

