The Bluebird Diaries – Late Summer Visit

I’ve been having bluebird withdrawal since our second 2012 bunch of babies left the nest box back on August 1. We haven’t seen them since then, which is not unusual. But I’d been wondering about them lately. This is a popular time of year for bluebird visits, and sure enough they came a’calling for late afternoon tea this past Friday! 🙂

There were so many birds flying around coming and going it was difficult to tell how many I was actually seeing, but I do know I counted five at once so there were at least that many, possibly more. And, I can’t be sure, but I believe they were from two different nestings. You’ll see why when I get into the pictures. We can never be sure, of course, whether they were actually from our nestbox or somewhere else, but we like to think they were ours!

We saw no adults, only babies!

Young male bluebird flying in for a landing

Young male bluebird flying in for a landing

Young male bluebird

If I had to guess (always dangerous) I would think this male came from an early summer nesting. I base my guess on the amount of orange on his underside.

Young male bluebird

Notice the pin feathers growing on on his wings

Young female bluebird

Young female bluebird contemplating a bath

Young female bluebird

“I’m in!”

Young female bluebird

“Now what do I do?”

Young male bluebird bathing

“Hey! Look over here! I’ll show you what to do!”

Young male bluebird bathing

This is how it’s done!

Young bluebird

This bluebird is younger than the others, probably from a late summer nesting.

Young bluebird

Notice this younger bluebird has no orange on his/her underside yet. It’s still sporting its baby-spots!

Young bluebird

S/he enjoyed watching the birdbath, which sits just underneath this weathervane, but didn’t bathe.

This activity all happened early Friday evening. They were back briefly on Saturday morning, and on Sunday morning I spotted three young females, all very intrigued by the nest box which we haven’t taken down yet. They climbed all over it, looking in the hole, checking everything out. They didn’t go in. But I wonder if they were saying “hey, that was my bedroom!”

I was thrilled to get this much-needed “bluebird fix” and I hope you enjoyed it as well!


Unless otherwise noted, all photos courtesy of White Pine Photo. I wouldn’t have a blog if not for my fantastic photographer! Connect with White Pine Photo: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter


This entry was posted in Birding, The Bluebird Diaries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bluebird Diaries – Late Summer Visit

  1. Sarah says:

    oooh! Wonderful pictures. I especially am tickled by the bird perched on a bird. What a nice visit!

  2. Thank you both! We were so happy to see them!

  3. putneyfarm says:

    So glad we found your blog! Awesome photos!

Talk to us!

