Mackinac Island Porch Sitting

Our typical day on Mackinac Island usually goes a little something like this:

  • 6:00 – Wake up
  • 7:00 – Breakfast at Chuckwagon
  • 8:00 – Bike around the island with copious photo stops
  • 9:30 – Other morning activity (more biking, hiking, etc.)
  • Noon – Light lunch
  • Afternoon – PORCH!

By the time we’re finished with our morning activities nothing sounds nicer than sitting on the porch at the Market Street Inn, where we stay while we visit, to watch the world go by. It’s extraordinarily relaxing, and my island vacation wouldn’t be complete without an afternoon or two spent on the porch.

Here it is! The beautiful, relaxing, wonderful Market Street Inn front porch!

So what do we do when we’re sitting on this beautiful porch? Why, take pictures of horses, of course! Every tour conducted by Mackinac Island Carriage Tours, not to mention numerous taxis and private carriages, take the Market Street route. I like to try to get their eyes. I think they’re beautiful. Here is just a sampling. (By the way, I took these pictures myself.)

(My favorite. Like he’s sticking his tongue out at me!)

I can’t imagine every staying anywhere else!


Unless otherwise noted, all photos courtesy of White Pine Photo. I wouldn’t have a blog if not for my fantastic photographer! Connect with White Pine Photo: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter


This entry was posted in Mackinac Island, Mackinac'ing, Miscellaneous Mackinac and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mackinac Island Porch Sitting

  1. bree1972 says:

    Loving those Mackinac Island horses!

  2. sonofwalt says:

    God, I so love reading these.

  3. Ingrid says:

    Just came across your blog….I love Mackinac Island. Daughter and I were there last summer but Hubby and I haven’t been back there together in years. We need to make it a priority!

  4. As you already know it’s a worthwhile goal! 🙂

Talk to us!

