Caterpillar Corner – Episode 7

Our caterpillars are progressing nicely!

Its silk bed is very evident in this picture.

This caterpillar will form its cocoon in just a few days.

I intentionally zoomed here to point out a few interesting features. First, note the mottled appearance of its skin. It will turn completely brown before making its cocoon. Next, I wanted to point out the cool blue dots symmetrically placed in rows down its body. This is the first time I’ve noticed them. I’m not aware of their purpose (if any) but they’re very cool! 🙂

Our little guy/gal is growing also!

Another closeup, this one to show the very beginnings of what will ultimately become its fake “eyes.”

Thanks for following along. We’ll be back in a few days. Here’s our updated collage!


Unless otherwise noted, all photos courtesy of White Pine Photo. I wouldn’t have a blog if not for my fantastic photographer! Connect with White Pine Photo: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter


This entry was posted in Caterpillar Corner, Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caterpillar Corner – Episode 7

  1. Elizabeth, these guys are so weird with their fakes eyes. I’m curious how you did the last photo with the nine panels?

  2. I did it manually (photoshop), shrinking each daily picture down to a common small size (maybe 200 x 150 pixels if I’m remembering correctly) then made a new blank canvas big enough to hold them all. Then, copied and pasted them onto the new canvas each as its own layer, then flattened. I’m told there’s a nice bit of software out there called PicMonkey (www.picmonkey.com) which would have done it all for me. I’m going to give that a try if I need to expand it.

Talk to us!

