Bag Lickers

My tale of woe takes place a few weeks before Christmas. The timing is mainly irrelevant but I wanted to set the scene. I head to the drugstore with my mate. We split up, because there’s a certain stocking stuffer I wish to buy for said mate. I find the stocking stuffer, sneak up to the cash register solo, pay, and take my package. I realize the bag is somewhat see-through, so I ask the cashier (who’s sporting an Assistant Manager tag) if I might have another bag. She says sure, licks her fingers to separate the bag, and hands it to me. I attempt to carry the now-spitty package between two fingernails as I make my way to my car.

Next day. I go food shopping. The bill is $16’ish and I hand the cashier a $20 bill. Oops, she’s out of ones. She has to break open a new pack, and I watch her as she licks her finger and counts out my change. She returns the remaining bills to the drawer and hands me mine, licked. I try not to touch them as I stuff them into my purse.

Later the very same day, I head to the greeting card store. I wanted an Advent Calendar. The cashier finishes up the transaction, turns behind her to get me a bag, licks her fingers at which point I yell “No thanks!” and carry my Advent Calendar, bagless, to my car.

So you’re thinking about this now, aren’t you? I’m not a germ-o-phobe. And if you asked me before all this whether people licked things before handing them off I’d have said “Absolutely not! Who would do that?” But they do. And they shouldn’t. And I bet you’ll notice it all the time now. Thank me later. 🙂

What will you do when this happens to you?

a. Nothing, a little spit never hurt anyone.
b. Nothing, but I’ll carry the bag very delicately til it dries.
c. Address it with the cashier.
d. Address it with the store manager.
e. Blog about it!

This entry was posted in Living. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bag Lickers

  1. Sarah says:

    This post is cracking me up! Lickers everywhere! I’m definitely not a germaphobe but I would never ever lick my fingers in a money handling situation. I mean, come on. Money! It touches everyone and travels everywhere.

Talk to us!

