The Bluebird Diaries – Vol. 2 No. 3

A few days ago when I tried to start preparing this blog post there was absolutely nothing going on with our bluebirds. The past few days had been rainy and cool, all progress on the nest had stopped, and in fact I hadn’t even seen them in a full day or more. So I decided maybe I’d make a list of popular prior bluebird posts. Or something. Just so I’d have something to talk about!

Just then, things started happening! First, the Mom and her babies came by for an afternoon snack. Before I could grab the camera, the mom fed this baby a worm on the patio then flew away. But, the baby stayed awhile.

There were a few other babies around the yard at the same time.

Later, I spotted a Downy Woodpecker in one of our birch trees, which happens to be fairly close to the bluebird nestbox. We don’t see many woodpeckers, because most of the trees in the neighborhood are young and fairly small. As I scrambled around for the camera, he decided to check out the accommodations.

This is all he did. He simply took a peek and moved on, and before I could get any other pictures he was long gone from our yard.

Later, we decided to take one final look in the box (we check it each morning and evening) and lo and behold, look what we found!

It’s about the last thing we expected to see as the day came to a close, I’ll be honest. But, the weather has improved, and we’re sure they’ll be back at some point today to make another deposit!

By the way, I took all the pictures in this post. Not the norm, but my photographer wasn’t available so I had to go it alone!

We’ll be back in a few days with another update! Thanks for following along.


Unless otherwise noted, all photos courtesy of White Pine Photo. I wouldn’t have a blog if not for my fantastic photographer! Connect with White Pine Photo: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter


This entry was posted in Birding, Second 2012 Bluebird Nesting, The Bluebird Diaries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to us!

